Customer.io vs Loops
Updated based on independent user evidence
| Sentiment | ||
|---|---|---|
| Score | 41/100 | 65/100 |
| Rank in category | #4 | Unranked (under 8 rated comments) |
| Rated comments | 16 | 7 |
| Best for | SaaS and app teams whose lifecycle messaging is driven by in-product events; Teams with clean event data and developer time to maintain it; Products needing segmentation across distinct audiences, such as two-sided marketplaces | Early-stage SaaS teams sending onboarding and lifecycle emails; Solo founders with small lists who want a free or low-cost start |
| Skip it if | Early-stage or freemium apps watching cost per contact; Marketers without developer support for event setup; Teams wanting HubSpot to stay the single source of truth for lifecycle stages | No pattern in user complaints |
| Starting price | $100/mo | $49/mo |
| Pricing (vendor-stated) | Essentials starts at $100/mo billed monthly for 5k profiles and 1M emails per month, with extra profiles at $0.009 each and extra emails at $0.12 per 1,000. Premium starts at $1,000/mo billed yearly with custom volumes; Enterprise is sales-led. No free plan; a trial is offered (length not stated), and startups that raised under $10M can get a year free. | Free plan: up to 1,000 subscribed contacts and 4,000 sends per rolling 30 days, with Loops branding; no credit card required. Growth from $49/month at 5,000 subscribed contacts, rising with contact count, with unlimited sends and no per-seat fees. Enterprise is custom above 1.5 million contacts. Unsubscribed contacts don't count; annual billing is not mentioned. |
Frequently asked questions
Only Customer.io has enough independent discussion to rank (41/100 from 16 rated comments). Loops has 7 rated comments, below the 8 we require, so its 65/100 is provisional.
Customer.io: Essentials starts at $100/mo billed monthly for 5k profiles and 1M emails per month, with extra profiles at $0.009 each and extra emails at $0.12 per 1,000. Premium starts at $1,000/mo billed yearly with custom volumes; Enterprise is sales-led. No free plan; a trial is offered (length not stated), and startups that raised under $10M can get a year free. Loops: Free plan: up to 1,000 subscribed contacts and 4,000 sends per rolling 30 days, with Loops branding; no credit card required. Growth from $49/month at 5,000 subscribed contacts, rising with contact count, with unlimited sends and no per-seat fees. Enterprise is custom above 1.5 million contacts. Unsubscribed contacts don't count; annual billing is not mentioned. Prices are from each vendor's pricing page and change often.