Customer.io vs Mailchimp
Updated based on independent user evidence
| Sentiment | ||
|---|---|---|
| Score | 41/100 | 11/100 |
| Rank in category | #4 | #5 |
| Rated comments | 16 | 31 |
| Best for | SaaS and app teams whose lifecycle messaging is driven by in-product events; Teams with clean event data and developer time to maintain it; Products needing segmentation across distinct audiences, such as two-sided marketplaces | Small lists sending straightforward newsletters; Stores that want product images, titles and links pulled into emails from their catalog |
| Skip it if | Early-stage or freemium apps watching cost per contact; Marketers without developer support for event setup; Teams wanting HubSpot to stay the single source of truth for lifecycle stages | Large lists that only mail segments, since price follows total contacts; Shopify stores that rely on purchase-behavior segments and flows; Senders without the volume for a dedicated IP who need consistent Gmail inbox placement |
| Starting price | $100/mo | $13/mo |
| Pricing (vendor-stated) | Essentials starts at $100/mo billed monthly for 5k profiles and 1M emails per month, with extra profiles at $0.009 each and extra emails at $0.12 per 1,000. Premium starts at $1,000/mo billed yearly with custom volumes; Enterprise is sales-led. No free plan; a trial is offered (length not stated), and startups that raised under $10M can get a year free. | Free plan for up to 250 contacts and 500 sends/mo. Paid plans shown at the page's default contact tier: Essentials $13/mo, Standard $20/mo, Premium $350/mo, each listed per month for the first 12 months; prices scale with contact count and overages apply. 14-day free trial of Essentials or Standard; Premium trial via sales. |
Frequently asked questions
Independent users prefer Customer.io (41/100 from 16 rated comments) over Mailchimp (11/100 from 31 rated comments). Customer.io is best for SaaS and app teams whose lifecycle messaging is driven by in-product events; Mailchimp is best for Small lists sending straightforward newsletters.
Customer.io: Essentials starts at $100/mo billed monthly for 5k profiles and 1M emails per month, with extra profiles at $0.009 each and extra emails at $0.12 per 1,000. Premium starts at $1,000/mo billed yearly with custom volumes; Enterprise is sales-led. No free plan; a trial is offered (length not stated), and startups that raised under $10M can get a year free. Mailchimp: Free plan for up to 250 contacts and 500 sends/mo. Paid plans shown at the page's default contact tier: Essentials $13/mo, Standard $20/mo, Premium $350/mo, each listed per month for the first 12 months; prices scale with contact count and overages apply. 14-day free trial of Essentials or Standard; Premium trial via sales. Prices are from each vendor's pricing page and change often.